

## 2017 INTERNATIONAL ANNUAL MEETING



The Societies recognize award recipients at Awards Ceremonies held during the Annual Meeting in Tampa, FL, Oct. 22–25, 2017.









Jimmy Zumba Congressional Science Fellow A-C-S Award



M. Francesca Cotrufo Mentoring Award A-C-S Award





**Taylor B. Berkshire** Agronomic Travel Study Scholarship



Katelyn Fritz Agronomic Travel Study Scholarship



Kolby Grint Agronomic Travel Study Scholarship



Samantha Teten Agronomic Travel Study Scholarship



Nick Theisen J. Fielding Reed Scholarship



Nicholas L. Hurdle Frank D. Keim Graduate Fellowship



**Taylor A. Young** Frank D. Keim Graduate Fellowship



Martin Battaglia Nelson Yield-Limiting Factors Graduate Scholarship



Lee Briese International Certified Crop Adviser of the Year Award



Hardev Sandhu ASA Early Career Professional Award



Jorge A. Delgado Environmental Quality Research Award



**Quirine M. Ketterings** Carl Sprengel Agronomic Research Award



Rajiv Khosla Werner L. Nelson Award for Diagnosis of Yield-Limiting Factors



Roger W. Elmore Agronomic Education & Extension Award



Fredrick F. Vocasek Agronomic Industry Award



**Zhenli He** Kingenta Agricultural Science Award



Yanqi Wu Tengtou Agricultural Science Award



Charles W. Rice International Agronomy Award



**Clifford S. Snyder** ASA Distinguished Service Award



Women Farmers ASA Presidential Award



A program within the Golden Opportunity Scholars Institute, sponsored by ASA and ICCA, supporting outstanding undergraduates in a B.S. or A.S. program who plan to enter the workforce upon graduation.



Keely Overmyer Ohio State Univ.



**Georgina Erandi Reyes Solorio** California State Univ.-Fresno



Nancy Alexis Valdez California State Univ.-Fresno



Sarah Zerger Kansas State Univ.

Crop Science SOCIETY OF AMERICA

Awards



Anju Giri Crop Science Graduate Scholarship



Hannah Schneider Crop Science Graduate Scholarship



Clinton J. Steketee Crop Science Graduate Scholarship



Jay McCurdy CSSA Early Career Award



Peter Bretting Frank N. Meyer Medal for Plant Genetic Resources



Carol Baskin Seed Science Award



Jerry Baskin Seed Science Award



Alexey Morgunov International Crop Science Award



Craig Roberts Crop Science Extension Education Award



Tom Elmo Clemente Crop Science Research Award



Samuel Bruce Martin Fred V. Grau Turfgrass Science Award



Edward S. Buckler IV CSSA Presidential Award







**Joel Ebert** Hubert J. Byrd Sr. Scholarship



Kelsey Wallisch Simon Hubert J. Byrd Sr. Scholarship



Lesley W. Atwood Clark Soil Biology Scholarship



Jonathan Alexander Soil & Water Conservation Scholarship



Joseph A. Burke Gary "Pete" Peterson Dryland Soil Management Scholarship



Oliver Chadwick America/New Zealand Soil Science Travel Award



Trenton L. Roberts SSSA Early Career Award



Markus Flury Don and Betty Kirkham Soil Physics Award



Charles W. Rice International Soil Science Award



Gerrit Hoogenboom L.R. Ahuja Ag Systems Modeling Award



Hui Li Jackson Soil Science Award



Alan Schlegel Soil Science Applied Research Award



Martha Mamo Soil Science Education & Extension Award



Dale F. Leikam Soil Science Industry & Professional Leadership Award sponsored by Irrometer



David A. Laird Soil Science Research Award



Eldor Paul Soil Science Distinguished Service Award



Tom Vilsack SSSA Honorary Member



Jason Weller SSSA Honorary Member



Chien-Lu Ping SSSA Presidential Award



David C. Weindorf SSSA Presidential Award





The Golden Opportunity Scholars Institute matches undergraduates with scientist-mentors. The program encourages students to pursue careers in the agronomic, crop, and soil sciences. It is supported through the Agronomic Science Foundation.



S. Brad Davis Brigham Young Univ.-Idaho



Keren Duerksen Kansas State Univ.



Audrey C. Geise West Virginia Univ.



Rebecca S. Johnson Iowa State Univ.



Holly M. Lane Washington State Univ.



Franklin Linam Texas A&M Univ.



Vivian C. Maier California State Univ.-Fresno



Autumn Alyce McLaughlin Univ. of Tennessee-Martin



Grace K. Ogden Oklahoma State Univ.



**Cedric Evan Park** Univ. of Maryland



Warren H. Porter Bringham Young Univ.



Lauren E. Schwarck Iowa State Univ.



Tyler G. Searle Brigham Young Univ.-Idaho



William M. Singer Univ. of Tennessee-Martin



Matalyn E. Stark Cornell Univ.



Carmen J. Swannack Washington State Univ.



Suzette N. Turner California State Univ.-Chico



Liza Van der Laan Oklahoma State Univ.



Hunt Walne Mississippi State Univ.



**Ciera Ware** Texas Tech Univ.



Alec M. Weber South Dakota State Univ.



Elizabeth Widder Iowa State Univ.





Members of the Society nominate worthy colleagues based on their professional achievements and meritorious service. Up to 0.3% of the Society's active and emeritus members may be elected Fellow.



Carl H. Bolster USDA-ARS



Deli Chen Univ. of Melbourne



Michael A. Fidanza Pennsylvania State Univ.



Peter Kyveryga Iowa Soybean Association



Bernd Leinauer New Mexico State Univ.



Martin A. Locke USDA-ARS



Rob Malone USDA-ARS



Grady L. Miller North Carolina State Univ.



Nathan A Slaton Univ. of Arkansas



Kurt A. Spokas USDA-ARS



John C. Stier Univ. of Tennessee-Knoxville



Wade E. Thomason Virginia Tech



Mitchell Tuinstra Purdue Univ.



Xiao E. Yang Zhejiang Univ.



**Tiequan Zhang** Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada

Congratulations

2017 Fellow, Award, and Scholarship Recipients



Members of the Society nominate worthy colleagues based on their professional achievements and meritorious service. Up to 0.3% of the Society's active and emeritus members may be elected Fellow.



Twain Butler Noble Research Institute



Roger W. Elmore Univ. of Nebraska-Lincoln



**Yantai Gan** Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada



Amir M.H. Ibrahim Texas A&M Univ.



Lee Panella USDA-ARS



Andrew H. Paterson Univ. of Georgia-Athens



Sukumar Saha USDA-ARS



Gerald R. Smith Texas Agrilife Research



Mitchell Tuinstra Purdue Univ.



Duli Zhao USDA-ARS

2017 Award Programs

Marriott Tampa Waterside, Grand Ballroom E-F

CSSA Breakfast, Awards, and Plenary Betty Klepper Endowed Lectureship Monday, Oct. 23 7:00-9:00 am

SSSA Breakfast, Awards, and Plenary Nyle C. Brady Frontiers of Soil Science Lectureship Tuesday, Oct. 24 7:00-9:00 am

ASA Breakfast, Awards and Plenary E.T. & Vam York Distinguished ASA Lectureship Wednesday, Oct. 25 7:00-9:00 am



Members of the Society nominate worthy colleagues based on their professional achievements and meritorious service. Up to 0.3% of the Society's active and emeritus members may be elected Fellow.



Jon Chorover Univ. of Arizona



Hero T. Gollany USDA-ARS



Sabine Grunwald Univ. of Florida



Zhongqi He USDA-ARS



James A. Ippolito Colorado State Univ.



Terry L. Roberts International Plant Nutrition Institute



Nathan A. Slaton Univ. of Arkansas



Kurt A. Spokas USDA-ARS



David C. Weindorf Texas Tech Univ.



Joann K. Whalen McGill Univ.



John R. White Louisiana State Univ.



Jae E. Yang Kangwon National Univ.

Nominate in 2018

agronomy.org/awards | crops.org/awards | soils.org/awards