

Soil Science Society of America Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Tuesday June 27, 2023, 8:45-10:30am (Central)

President Carrie Laboski called the meeting to order. Board members present: Ex-officio: CEO Jim Cudahy; Editor-in-Chief Craig Rasmussen, President: Carrie Laboski, USDA-ARS (2023) Univ. of Arizona (2024); Incoming President-Elect Samira President-Elect: Michael Thompson, Iowa State (2023) Daroub, Univ. of Florida (2023) Past President: Ron Turco, Purdue (2023) Unable to attend: Agricultural Soil and Food Systems Group: Jane Johnson, Early Career: Dianna Bagnall, Soil Health Institute (2025) USDA-ARS (2023); Maysoon Mikha, USDA-ARS (2024); Hero Fundamental Soil Science Group: Maxine Levin, USDA-NRCS-Gollany, USDA-ARS (2025) retired (2024); Rebecca Lybrand, UC-Davis (2025) Program Planning Officer Aaron Daigh, U of Nebraska (2024) CPSS Rep: James Hartsig, CPSS (2023) DEI Member-at-Large: Xia Zhu-Barker, UW-Madison (2025) ASF Chair Samantha Miller, Corteva Agriscience (2023) Education & Practicing Professionals Group: Clay Robinson, Also attending: CRC Consulting (2025) Chris Boomsma, Education Director Fundamental Soil Science Group: Mary Stromberger, Ohio Susan Chapman, Member Services Director State Univ. (2023) Dawn Gibas, Certifications Director Grad Student Rep: Elizabeth Bradley, Auburn (2023) Wes Meixelsperger, CFO & Meetings Director Soil & Ecosystem Processes Group: Daniel Markewitz, U. of Luther Smith, Chief Administrative Officer Georgia (2023); Ronald Reuter, Oregon State (2024) Sara Uttech, Governance Director Susan Varghese, People & Culture Director Matt Wascavage, Publications Director

S003 SSSA Board of Directors

- 1. ACTION: The following Consent Agenda items were approved:
 - June 27, 2023 SSSA Board of Directors Meeting Agenda
 - May 30, 2023 SSSA Board of Directors Meeting Minutes
 - ACS321 Committee recommendation to adopt Artificial Intelligence Generated Content Policy for the journals
- 2. Motion by Daniel Markewitz, seconded by Ron Reuter, to approve the Ethics Task Force recommendation to adopt the Ethics Committee Guidelines as presented. Unanimous approval.
- 3. CEO Jim Cudahy reviewed the Workforce Development Task Force Recommendations, which includes that workforce development should be a Cross-Society Objective within our next Strategic Plan.
- 4. In preparation for the ASA-CSSA-SSSA-ASF Strategic Planning July 26-27, 2023 in Madison and Virtual, Governance Director Sara Uttech reviewed the following:
 - Certified Crop Adviser Executive Committee and Certified Professional Soil Scientist leadership invited to participate in Strategic Planning, including: Incoming CPSS Board Rep. Jacob Berkowitz, former CPSS Board Rep. Aaron DeJoia, and Outgoing CPSS Board Rep. James Hartsig
 - Tuesday July 25 In-Person: Arrive by 4:00pm Central to Best Western Premier Park hotel in time for 5:00pm dinner at UW-Madison Memorial Union Terrace
 - Wednesday July 26 In-Person at Fluno Center & Remote
 - Thursday July 27 In-Person at Fluno Center & Remote until 3pm Central, depart after or 7/28
 - ASA reimburses travel expenses with receipts (no per diems) per the Travel Policy and itemizing on the Travel Expense Report attached to the Calendar invite and submit with receipts to Sara Uttech

- 5. CEO Jim Cudahy led the board through Strategic Planning exercises, including asking the board, "What Is Our Hedgehog?" and "What factors/dynamics must we change to allow for relentless pursuit of Our Hedgehog?" These exercises reinforced the board's reading material, *Good to Great and the Social Sectors* by Jim Collins:
 - As a Society, what are we—as Boards, as members, as certified professionals—most passionate about?
 - What drives our economic engine? (what will our members and stakeholders pay for us to do?)
 - At what can we be better than anyone else in the world?

S529 SSSA Inclusivity Assessment Committee

Past Chair of the SSSA Inclusivity Committee Samira Daroub presented an overview of the SSSA Membership Ethnicity Report that was also distributed.

ACS321 ASA-CSSA-SSSA Editorial Policy Coordination Committee

Publications Director Matt Wascavage reviewed the next steps for post-2024 publishing.

S495 SSSA Fellows Committee

President Carrie Laboski reviewed the 2023 SSSA Awards and Fellows recipients. Board members are asked to keep the list confidential until the recipients and non-recipients have been notified. Board members are also asked to encourage award nominations, especially for women and those in other underrepresented groups.

Consensus to Adjourn.